My Musical Tastes

“Good music” is relative. Plus, what sounds good instrumentally vs what sounds good lyrically is also relative. My tastes are picky and yet broad. It’s hard to describe my music tastes without being very specific and picking my top 10 favorite songs of all time or even a certain decade is flat out impossible for me. So, to try and answer the question of my musical tastes, here is a detailed lists on genres that I love to listen too, tolerate, and dislike. Keep in mind that I can find artists I like and hate in nearly each of the genres. This list is very detailed in terms of genres and sub-genres. For each genre, I included an example. Of course, with certain genres it’s hard to define so the examples may be disputed. Plus some of these artists do more than that particular genre. If I don’t include an artist as an example, that doesn’t mean I don’t like it/hate it. Any genres not listed I have never heard of or have never listened too.

Genres of Music I Like:

Classical (Mozart)

Romantic (Beethoven)

Easy Listening (Frank Sinatra)

Any form of Jazz (Louis Armstrong)

Any form of Blues (B.B. King)

Gospel Music (…my church?)

1950s – 1960s Pop (Roy Orbison)

Rock N’ Roll (Elvis Presley)

1960s Rock (The Beatles)

Acid Rock (Jimi Hendrix)

Progressive Rock (Pink Floyd)

Classic Hard Rock (Led Zeppelin)

Classic Heavy Metal (Black Sabbath)

Glam Rock (T-Rex)

70s Rock (Kansas)

70s/80s Hard Rock (Van Halen)

New Wave of British Heavy Metal (Iron Maiden)

Glam/Hair Metal (Whitesnake)

Thrash Metal (Metallica)

Speed Metal (Motorhead)

Classic Punk Rock (Ramones)

Grunge (Nirvana)

New Wave (Tears for Fears)

1980s Pop (Michael Jackson)

Disco (Bee Gees)

Soul (Marvin Gaye)

Synthpop (Phil Collins)

Piano Rock (Billy Joel)

Alternative Rock (Goo Goo Dolls)

Indie Rock (The Killers)

Sludge Metal (Alice in Chains)

Progressive Metal (Mastodon)

Post-Grunge (Fuel)

Power Metal (Dragonforce)

Nu-Metal (Linkin Park)

Genres I tolerate

Dubstep (Skrillex)

Electronic (Depeche Mode)

Electronic Dance (Avicii? I guess?)

Coffeeshop music (Norah Jones)

Hardcore Hip-Hop (Eminem)

1990s Hip-Hop (Krisscross)

Genres I dislike

Modern pop (1-D)

Hip-Hop (Drake)

About EmperorTigerstar

I make a YouTube account that makes map animations of historical events such as World War II or the Civil War.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

