The Quest for Pearl Harbor

Back in August, I got Civilization V, one of the greatest history-strategy computer games of all time (the franchise anyway. Some prefer IV better). I got the expansion Gods and Kings, which made things even better! I loved playing on the earth map or doing something weird like having an Aztec tank defeat a Spanish pikemen to take Madrid. Most of all, I love to do real military strategies. For example, sometimes I’ll pull a Hannibal while playing as Carthage and send a mass of war elephants and spearmen through mountains to pillage and capture enemy cities. But I think my favorite is pulling a Pearl Harbor. Normally, it’s just a simple aerial attack at a city my spies or other troops have revealed to have a lot of naval, land, and/or air forces. Then I just bomb the area with a few planes and then attack their territories with amphibious landings. But, one day I decided that I wanted to make a real pearl harbor attack, or at least partly real.

The following were used by the Japanese at Pearl Harbor:

6 aircraft carriers

2 battleships

2 heavy cruisers

1 light cruiser

9 destroyers

8 tankers

23 fleet submarines

5 midget submarines

414 aircraft

Obviously, not all of these are real units. In addition, resources and time prevents me from making 414 aircraft and 23 submarines. So, I made the following:

6 aircraft carriers

2 battleships

9 destroyers

5 submarines

12 aircraft

Now, I had already conquered the entire world EXCEPT for the lone city-state of Singapore. It wasn’t Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, America, 1941. It was Singapore 1946. But close enough. I had just enough fire power to destroy their units, infrastructure, and city (and unlike the Japanese, capture it.)

pearlharbor

Doom.

I am such a nerd.

About EmperorTigerstar

I make a YouTube account that makes map animations of historical events such as World War II or the Civil War.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Quest for Pearl Harbor

  1. Theodor says:

    Ha, I know that situation from my Civ5 escapades too!

    Just wanted to notice: somewhere you said you haven’t tried Europa Universalis IV yet. I’ve been an ardent Civ player since Civ3, and I’m also a big history/geography buff (used to spend hours coloring white border maps of Europe with imagined empires, and just yesterday I spent the whole evening reading about the Avars and clicking further links on Wikipedia)… but since I picked up EU4 in August I haven’t even bothered installing Civ5 on my new machine. It’s just so much better for satisfying my frontlines-on-a-map cravings.

    It’s a bit more complex than Civ5 though, so I’d recommend watching a few “Let’s Play” videos by YouTubers Quill18 or Arumba07. And beware, once you pick it up, dozens of hours will go down the drain 😀

Leave a Reply

